Penn State Players Named to Award Watch Lists

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

The watch lists for all of the major college awards have been rolled out and Penn State had a good showing. Here is a list of the players that have been acknowledged by the national media, entering the 2012 season.



Silas Redd

Doak Walker Award: Awarded to the nation’s top running back.

Other nominees include Marcus Lattimore, Montee Ball, LeVeon Bell and Eddie Lacy.

Previous winners include Trent Richardson, Darren McFadden, Reggie Bush and Larry Johnson.

Maxwell Award: Awarded to the top player in the nation by the Maxwell Football Club of Philadelphia.

Other nominees include Denard Robinson, Tavon Austin, Matt Barkley and Landry Jones.

Previous winners include Cam Newton, Tim Tebow, Vince Young and Larry Johnson.

Silas Redd carried the load for the Penn State offense last season, rushing for 1241 yards and 7 touchdowns. With a new playbook and what hopes to be a revamped passing game, Silas should find more lanes to run through. Also, I fully expect the coaching staff to utilize Silas’ talents by getting him the ball in space, all over the field.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

comments powered by Disqus